What changed on 17th October 2012 – " A contract for life"

In the weeks leading up to this day I had attended two weddings. The first as a guest and the second as a Celebrant and a guest. I decided like a lot of my friends who were attending the first wedding to wear a dress which is so out of my comfort zone but I would do it anyway. I felt so comfortable however I was around a very supporting bunch of women of all shapes and sizes. We had an absolute blast.

After feeling so good after that night I decided I would wear the same dress again a week later. On the 13th October 2012 I went out to our local shops and got my make up done and I felt beautiful, more than beautiful I felt stunning. I went home, straightened my hair and hubby and I set off for the wedding. I felt like a million bucks with my red dress and heals. We had a fantastic child free night and a lot of fun.

That was until Monday arrived and I started looking over photos and realised that I am just not happy with what I saw, yes I think I look great in a head shot but a full body shot looks terrible, I need to change, I need to do something that will make me healthy and happy with what I see when I look at photos or better still in the mirror. We had and still have no plans to have anymore children so I decided it was my time to change my lifestyle and to write myself “A contract for life”.

So on Wednesday 17th October 2012 I decided to change my life.  Here is my contract

17thOctober 2012

I, Jaime hereby agree and commit to take the following steps to improve my accountability to myself and increase my chances for weight loss success:
1. I will not let one small slip-up convince me that I’m stupid, worthless, or a lost cause. I will respect myself by refusing to engage in verbal self-abuse, and I will find positive ways to comfort and support myself when I’m having a hard time.
Specifically, I will…
– Take a walk when I feel like having something naughty to eat
– Stop and think about why I am doing this
– Speak to Paul when I am feeling down about my weight and need encouragement
– Do something nice for someone else…i.e. Bake a cake/cookies.
2. I will not sacrifice my own needs to make other people happy, or do for them what they can and should be doing for themselves. When there is a conflict between my exercise and eating plans and what other people want me to do, I will negotiate to find a reasonable solution that allows me to do what I need to do for myself.
3. I choose to be in charge of my own decisions and behaviour. I will not talk, think, or act as if my partner, child, spouse, cravings, or subconscious made me do it. I will ask myself what’s most important to me at that moment and make my decision. If I don’t like the consequences, I will try something different the next time.

Jaime

Never again

2 thoughts on “What changed on 17th October 2012 – " A contract for life"

  1. Pingback: One Year Anniversary |

Leave a Reply

