Smoothies

I have never been a smoothie drinker and I’m not entirely sure I could do it everyday for breakfast, there is a thought process around not actually eating something that makes me feel hungry.

I did think it a little strange when steaming Pumpkin last night that I would be adding it into a blender with a banana and some milk and some sweet spices but I figured it would work.  I remember years ago my Mum asking me to try Pumpkin Pie and me thinking “yuck”, why would you make Pumpkin sweet and put it in a pastry crust and eat it!  Well I love it and if it wasnt for the fact that its full of sugar and served with lashings of cream we would probably have it more often.

A friend shared a recipe which i loved the sound of so I gave it a go.  I changed the recipe up a little as I am not a huge fan of yoghurt but you get the idea.

1/2 Cup Pumpkin Puree
1/2 Banana (fresh or frozen)
3/4 Cup Vanilla Yoghurt
1 Tsp of Mixed Spice (Mixed spice typically contains: Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Allspice and may also contain, or commonly have added to it Cloves, Ginger, Coriander & Caraway)
Milk to desired thickness

I swapped the yoghurt out for 15g of oats, added a little stevia for sweetness and also added some ice as I like my smoothies really cold.

I love the fact that you can add a vegetable to your smoothie.  I am fairly sure I could give this to my boys (probably without the grain of the oats) and they would love it.

Here are a couple more recipes I am going to try to make over the coming days:

Banana Ginger Smoothie
1 Banana
1/2 Cup Vanilla Yoghurt
1 Tbsp Honey
1/2 Tsp Freshly Grated Ginger

Green Tea, Blueberry & Banana Smoothie
3 Tbsp Water
1 Green Tea Bag
2 Tsp Honey
1/2 Cup Frozen Blueberries
1 Banana (Fresh of Frozen)
3/4 Cup Milk

Boil the water and steep the tea bag (discard the bag after 3 mins), add honey and blend with remainder of items

Apricot Mango Smoothie
3 Whole Apricots or 6 Canned Apricot Halves
1 Cup Mango (Fresh or Frozen)
2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
1/4 Tsp Vanilla Extract
4 Ice Cubes

Berry Good Smoothie
1/2 Cup Blueberries (Fresh or Frozen)
1/2 Cup Vanilla Yoghurt
1/4 Cup Cranberry or Blueberry Juice

Jaime xx

