Week 55

As mentioned earlier in the week https://acontractforlife.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/cool-night-classic-5km-run/ I participated in the Cool Night Classic which I was happy to have finished with what I thought was a pretty good time.
There needs to be some thought process around what I train for next – do I need something?  Yes I do, I need something to keep me striving forward.  I need an exercise goal.
There are a lot of activities in and around Brisbane at the moment that I am looking into, one that has caught my eye is ‘The Holt Bolt’, similarly to The Stampede however  not a lot of mud, it is a 6-8 km obstacle course which you can do up to 6 times a year with the idea to better your time with every ‘bolt’.  Sounds like something that could be worth doing.

I didn’t do much exercise over the weekend apart from Boot Camp which to be honest was more than enough.  This week we were split into 2 groups of 4 and each group flipped a truck tyre up the driveway to the conservation park, we assumed we would stop at the top of the car park but our trainer had a better idea (well in his head).  We had to flip the tyre up the ‘stairs of death’ then down the concrete path that leads you back to the car park.  It was a hard slog and almost 40 mins and 1.25km later we arrived back at the car park, suitable tired, thirsty and very dirty.  What a work out that was!
I was lucky enough to take the tyre home for the week (not that I have done anything with it, unless you count my boys washing it).  I may get some time to use it on Saturday before taking it back to Boot camp on Sunday.
I do wonder what this weeks session will bring…….

Fast forward to Tuesday, the race that stops the nation – Melbourne Cup.  We always have a lunch at work and this year, like others, I was the one organising.  It’s hard work to collect money and cater for almost 50 people but I had a completely different mindset this year in regard to food, I was going to do my best to make it as healthy as I could however on a cheapish budget.  We ended up with chickens, ham, homemade coleslaw, rolls, fruit and some other naughty bits and pieces but everyone was pretty happy with the result which I was relieved about.  What I did find hard was buying the things that I don’t purchase anymore.  The pre-packaged potato and pasta salads were definitely something I wasnt happy about, technically I could have made these myself which would have been much cheaper and healthier but I didn’t have the time.   The hardest part was the soft drink, I actually had to select off the shelf and purchase 9 bottles of that stuff and I was quite disgusted when I looked in to the trolley and realised that half of the trolley was filled with what ended up costing me $6.57.  The 9 bottles of soft drink cost less than 3 packs of coleslaw 😦 I was appalled!  Sugary carbonated preservative filled bottles of colour only cost $0.73c each however I couldn’t even buy a punnet of tomatoes for less than $1.25.  There is nothing right about this situation.  It’s outragous that good food is so expensive!!

I had my measurements taken at the gym on Tuesday night for the first time.  I have been taking them myself when I feel like it (no more than 6 times in 12 months) and havent been doing a very good job.  One of my goals is to better these measurements over the coming months.

My current motto: Strong is the new Skinny.

Weekly Stats:

Start Weight: 104.2kg
Weigh in: 1.5kg Gain
Total Loss: 27.9kg in 55 weeks
Current Weight: 76.3 kg
Current BMI: 27.0 (started at 37.4)
Total Percentage Weight Loss: 26.78%
Calories Consumed: 12,314
Sugars Consumed: 555 grams
Total Fat: 388 grams
Exercised: 7 times
Exercise Calories: 2,802 cals
LilySlim Weight loss tickers
Jaime xx

Leave a comment